Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

How to restore deleted Live Messenger contacts after Skype migration

skype

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Liskiller

Liskiller

    Super WinMatrixian

  • Elites
  • 2,045 posts

Posted 19 January 2013 - 06:28 AM

1J53mBL.png
 
Are you one of those Windows Live Messenger users who lost their contacts after upgrading to Skype? For a small number of users, a crash could result in a corrupted contact database, resulting in missing contacts in Skype. And for a small number of users, there is a bug in how Skype retrieves contacts in certain conditions which meant you could see your Messenger contacts at people.live.com but not in Skype.
 
Skype team has fixed these issues in Skype 6.1. but if still your contacts got deleted then you can follow this guide to restore them.
 
First of all please verify if you can see all your Messenger contacts at https://people.live.com. Follow steps below if you discover the contacts have been deleted or not.


If the contacts have been deleted on people.live.com:

  • Sign out and quit Skype.
  • Sign in with your Microsoft account to https://people.live.com
  • At the top of the page open the Manage menu
  • Click Restore deleted contacts in the Manage menu
  • Select the contacts you wish to restore by checking the box next to their name and click Restore
  • Select the restored contacts in your contact list by checking the box next to their name and re-invite them by clicking Manage > Invite to Messenger

If the contacts have NOT been deleted on people.live.com:

Re-sync your Messenger contacts in Skype for Windows Desktop

  • Sign out and quit Skype.
  • Press Windows key + R to open the Run window
  • Type %appdata%\Skype into the Run window and press enter
  • Open the folder with the same name as your Skype name
  • Delete the file called eas.db. If you have hidden file extensions it will just show as eas
  • Log back in to Skype using your Microsoft Account

Re-sync your Messenger contacts in Skype for Mac

  • Sign out and quit Skype.
  • Go to the folder “ ~/Library/Application Support/Skype/ “
  • Open the folder with the same name as your Skype name
  • Delete the file called eas.db
  • Log back in to Skype using your Microsoft Account

Note: On March 15th, the Windows Messenger client will be blacklisted and unable to connect to the chat network, informing users that they must install the Skype client instead.

 

Source: Skype forum



Want to comment?

Register or Sign In to go completely ad-free!



Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: skype